The Peanut Butter Solution

Tonight was supposed to be the night for my annual dinner of meatloaf, mashed potatoes, corn on the cob, biscuits, and German Chocolate cake.  My mother made it for me every year for my birthday.  After she passed away my wife started making it for my birthday.  But as in all things, change comes eventually and we adjust to new situations.

This year, my wife said she was going to make my birthday meal for dinner and somehow that sense of anticipation that had always built up for that meal was clearly absent.  The lack of enthusiasm was not only absent, it didn’t even sound good.  I told my wife not to do it.  When she asked what I did want for dinner, I said “Don’t worry about dinner.  I’ll make a sandwich or something.”

Today, I received birthday wishes from about 1/3rd of my friends and relatives on my social networking site and responded to each and everyone of them as is socially appropriate in my opinion and still no idea what I wanted for dinner.  My son, and daughter called me to wish me a happy day and I loved talking to them, but still no dining thoughts.

My younger brother and daughter in law sent me text messages and I responded in kind for their wishes for my joyous day and you guessed it nothing sounded good.

I had received kind words from over 60 people to include a sibling, my children, cousins, my nieces, and tons of friends and something was missing from my day.  I had noticed that my other brother and sister had snubbed me.  Not only had they snubbed me, but my brother had also snubbed my wife on her birthday.  This did not sadden me, it actually irked me as I have always called them on their birthdays every year and even called my sister in law every year to wish her a happy birthday too.  As I realized this, the only thought that came to mind was “so shall ye sow, so shall ye reap.”

Life is too short to get upset by family who does not feel strongly about family.

Anyway, I was lying here with my foot elevated from the surgery and my mind was focused on something totally off topic and my wife handed me a plate.  On the plate was two grilled peanut butter sandwiches.

Years ago, and I am talking scores of years ago, I was a tall skinny kid who was a really picky eater.  My mother used to say two things:  the first was if peanut butter had not existed when I was young, I would have starved to death; and the other was if she had been smart she would have bought shares in the Skippy Peanut Butter company and she could have retired at the age of 40.

Whenever I was feeling down as a child she used to grill me a couple peanut butter sandwiches and give me a glass of ice cold milk to cheer me back up, and it always did.  Tonight, my wife did the same thing down to the ice cold milk and cutting the sandwiches at a diagonal.

I asked my wife when Mom told her about grilled peanut butter sandwiches and she said Mom never told her.  She told me that even though she thinks grilled peanut butter is gross, she had seen me make them once in a while and noticed that even though I don’t cut most sandwiches I make, when I make a peanut butter sandwich I always cut them diagonally.  Tonight, she just had this feeling this would be the solution to the lack of cheerfulness that I usually display.

In 35 years together, my wife has never ever made a grilled peanut butter sandwich before.  I think Mom, who has been gone from this dimension for seven years, still had something to do with this.

Everyone has a comfort food and mine came home after a long absence tonight.  So, now when someone is turning to their own comfort food for help, you can say it is The Peanut Butter Solution.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

