A Thought Came to Me

While driving over to visit my grandchildren today, I saw a large older pickup sputtering along the shoulder ahead of me.  Just as I came up on it, it stopped and the passenger jumped out, grabbed a beer can from the shoulder, throw it into the back of the truck and jump back in.

I thought to myself, “That truck probably gets no more than 10 miles per gallon when cruising at its maximum efficient speed.  At this speed, he is probably getting 5 miles per gallon.  The refund on beverage cans and bottles is 5¢ and the price of gas is $3.10 per gallon.  This means for these two to break even, every 5 miles they will have to pick up 62 redeemable cans.  That would be from the time they started the vehicle in their driveway until they have dropped off the cans and made it back to the driveway at home.

I’ve seen people driving along doing this for a long time and never thought about it before.  I think they waste more money than they make doing this.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Business, General Rantings, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

