The Patriot

Fifty stars up in the sky

The white of honor soaring high

The red of liberty with which they fly

For these things I would die.

So our families can sleep at night

enduring combat in dark and light

Overseas we take the fight

For these things I would die.

For Americans with different views

The haters and pacifists on the news

For whatever reason they did choose

For these things I would die.

On the soil of a foreign land

Defending freedom as I can

This is why I raised my hand

and for these things I have died.

 

This poem was originally written in the 1970’s and lost somewhere along the lines.  It was written after someone I knew back then asked me while I was home on leave what it was like to be a war mongering baby killer. 

Today it came to me and though I could not remember the exact words I wrote 40 years ago, the spirit remains the same.  The American soldiers, sailors, marines and airmen do not fight and die to protect only those who think we need defended, they also give their lives for those who disagree with the cause or the military in general.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Poetry, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

