Another Lesson Learned

Yesterday the wife and I made what is almost an annual pilgrimage to a state park we love to visit in the fall because of the changing color of the leaves in the canyon.  We drove to the bottom and parked the car to walk through the canyon along the meandering stream to take photographs.  Not only is the canyon sprinkled with oak, locust, maple and other assorted trees, but there are a myriad of wild flowers growing there that are still blooming.

I had my wife pose on one of the bridges crossing the stream and I made my way around to a vantage point to get the photograph.  Once completed, I walked back up to the road and while attempting to catch up with my wife, who had already started on again, I stepped on some leaves that I thought were on the roadway only to find out only half were on the road and the other half had built up on the shoulder 2″ lower to a depth equal to the roadway.  As I hit the ground on my knee and shoulder, my camera lens hit the road and broke.  My beautiful 70-200mm lens shattered.  Then as I started to get up I noticed that I had road rash on the palm of my hand and my knee was bleeding pretty profusely.

My wife used some colorful language against me not knowing what had happened as we made our way back to the car at the other end of the canyon.  Then she wanted photographs of this and that while I had to continuously remind her that the lens on the camera was no longer functioning.

When we got back to the car, I cleaned my knee off with some alcohol wipes I had left over from the last time we ate BBQ together which enabled me to create a new vivid and very boisterous rain dance.  To my credit, even at my age, I was able to avoid soiling my pants even with all the burning sensation in my knee.

I drove us home even though she wanted to go out for dinner while blood was running down my leg from my knee.  When we arrived home, I cleaned the wound again and then bandaged it.  Afterwards, I looked at the camera lens and hopefully it can be repaired at a reasonable cost.

Lessons learned:

1.  I don’t have the balance I used to;

2.  I don’t bounce like I used to; and

3.  With age, my wife’s common sense is going out the window.

But I am still alive this morning, and with effort can still walk on what is still a very painful knee.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

