And Just Like That, They Were Gone

The other day I had an idea for another poem.  As I sat down to write, the ode, the verse, the poem decided at the last moment not to cooperate and left.  It didn’t tell me what had caused it to change its mind.  It just walked away leaving me at the keyboard not knowing it was no longer there.

It has been five days now and still no word from the verse that once shared my mind and soul; I think its left me for another younger and less hole riddled brain.  I think that I shall miss the verse, but have enough to keep me busy so maybe I will not.

To the ode

not meant to be

I bid my fond farewell.

My quill

and well sit idly by

no stories for them to tell.

The verse

that came and left again

Has taken to flight like a bird.

The paper

lies here virginesque

untouched by a single word.

My mind

does wait for their return

to express what’s in my soul.

But without the words

to guide my hands

I’ll never reach that goal.

I turn my back

and go on with my life

because that is the natural task.

but if you see

that wandering verse

return it to me I ask.

 

 

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to And Just Like That, They Were Gone

  1. lula avila says:

    Those sneaky poems!!

Leave a Reply

