Flu Shots! Get Your Flu Shots Here!

I swear, going to the hospital for appointments Friday was like going to the carnival.  It seemed that there were people pushing flu shots around every corner.  Finally, I gave in a little and asked one of them about the shot.  I said “Every time I get the flu shot I get sick;  Why is that so?”

The nurse explained that the shots used to have dead flu virus in them so the body could build up a immunity to them.  Now they don’t do that and people won’t get sick from the shot.  Her demeanor screamed “Trust me!”, so I did.  I got that shot so I could be sure I would not pass the virus on to my grandchildren.

Friday night all of the kids and grandkids were at the house and we all had a good time except I was starting to feel like I was getting a head cold.  You know, a little scratchy feeling in the upper chest and just a wee bit of congestion in the forehead region of the sinuses.

Saturday morning I woke up to go hunting and the congestion was still there.  Never mind that I thought, I have to be where the bucks are to get one.  I got in the car and made the 75 minute drive to the forest where I hunt.  I harnessed up and climbed into the stand about 45 minutes before sunrise.

As it got light out, the turkeys started conversing to my left, pheasants were calling in front of me and several rabbits started hopping around on the path leading up to the tree stand where I sat.  I kept watch for deer, but none were cooperating with me.  Then about 9:00 AM came a rumbling from deep inside my body that told me I needed to act quickly.

I climbed out of the stand as quickly as I could and started making my way back to the car best as I could while bearing down on my muscles to keep everything right where they were.  At the car I stripped down in the 25°F weather and grabbed some paper towels.  What came next I will not relate to you as I don’t want to revisit it as much as you don’t want to read it.  Needless to say, it brought to mind visions of the alien creatures related in Stephen King’s novel Dreamcatcher.

I got dressed again and decided to make my way home as quickly as I could.  I spent the rest of the day in bed minus frequent trips to the bathroom.  Today, I feel somewhat better other than the sinus pressure, but rest assured next time I am encouraged to get a flu shot, I will encourage that person to put my shot where the sun does not shine.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

