Ah, the Rut

Here in Iowa the rut is picking up really fast.  I was in the tree stand yesterday afternoon and at two thirty a 160 class buck went flying by me like he’s being chased by the devil himself. I grabbed my bow in anticipation of the buck that could scare this one so bad, but nothing else came out.

4:00 PM a bigger buck comes across the CRP in front of me at 90 yards and heads down into the ravine to the right. All of a sudden I hear a lot of leaves rustling and a doe exits the other side of the ravine with him hot on her tail.

5:00, two does are walking the lane in front of me at 60 yards. They reach the fence and stop. From behind them comes yet even a bigger buck! This bruiser is pushing 200 easily! The does start back towards him and he separates the one doe from her yearling and runs after mama. Didn’t even have the opportunity for a shot all evening, but at least I know they are there!

On the 70 mile drive home I was given the opportunity to get three more deer on the roadway but decided I’d let them pass and save paying out my insurance deductible.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Hunting, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

