I’m Stacking Three Soapboxes on Top of Each Other for This One!

Here’s a rant. If you don’t want to read it, just ignore this post.

When I retired from the military, we applied for Tri-Care Prime where we’d pay a monthly premium and it would not cost us anything else. They told us that since we lived 52 road miles from the nearest Military or VA facility we could not get it because we were outside the 50 mile radius even though as the crow flies we were 45 miles from the VA Medical Center. So we got stuck with a co-pay and deductible to meet. We put our farm up for sale to move closer to Des Moines to qualify for Tri-Care Prime.

Two days before we closed, we were notified that Tri-Care Prime was no longer available for retirees in Iowa as the VA proximity was removed and we had to live within 50 miles of an active duty military “training” base. Depending on where you live in Iowa, the nearest base could be Offutt AFB in Omaha, or Whiteman AFB in Missouri, or Scott AFB in Illinois.  During this time our deductibles and co-pays were raised. This all happened around the time the ACA started being implemented.

On my fixed income I am not able to pay deductibles and co-pays for myself and since I am rated at over 50% disability began using the VA hospital, but my wife is not eligible to use the VAMC. So there was nothing we could do but continue being nailed in the pocket book for her medical expenses.  As far as I am concerned and even the Commander in Chief before we got this sorry POTUS said in the certificate she got from President Bush when I retired, by being my spouse while I served my country, she served too by taking care of the home front (the children and our home) when I was deployed.

Today, we got a bill from the optometrist for my wife’s eye exam with a note attached saying Tri-Care denied the claim. I called Tri-Care and they claim that under Standard we are not eligible for eye exams. I explained that they paid for my wife’s eye exam two years ago and four years ago and asked when they changed. The employee of Tri-Care stated we have not been eligible. I had them look up the claims from two years and four years ago and he saw where they had been paid, but stuck to the story we have never been eligible.

I am actually starting to regret spending all that time in the military.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Politics, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

