What Grandchildren Do To You

Last night while dining with our children and grandchildren, I looked at my granddaughter whom I call Boo Boo, who was being a normal 3 year old who could not sit still and said “Guess what Papa saw!”

“What”, she replied.

Knowing she has a current fascination with dinosaurs I said “I saw a dinosaur!”

Her little eyes grew wide and she immediately crawled under the table to sit on my lap to tell her the story.

“Was it a little dinosaur or a big one?” I asked to get her to help create my tale.

“Big one” she said.

“Do you know what color it was?” I asked.

“Red?” she said.

“Nope, it was a green one! Do you know what it was eating?”

“Buggies?” she asked.

“Nope it was eating all the leaves off the trees! That’s why there aren’t any leaves on trees right now.”

Her eyes grew even wider. “Did you see an elephant too?” she inquired.

“Nope, just the dinosaur. But guess what!”

“What Papa?”

“It was on a train! But not Thomas. I think it was Percy.” Percy is another locomotive on the Thomas the Train show and from the time she first spoke, Thomas the Train has been very important to her.

“No Papa! It was the dinosaur train!” she exclaimed. The dinosaur train is another show on PBS.

We sat together discussing the green dinosaur that eats leaves and rides on trains for quite some time while others ate their dinners. The look on her face as we talked of dinosaurs and sitting on my knee was priceless.

Harper also loves apples like nothing else and we bought her some honey crisp apples to take home with her. As they were leaving she was insistent that she carry the bag of apples and would not even allow me to put them in the truck before lifting her up in.

I love that little girl so much!

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Memories, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

