The Ignorafication of America

Yes, I know “Ignorafication” is not a word in the dictionary.  It is a word I coined to mean ‘the intentional process designed to lower the mental capabilities of people as a whole; to intentionally make more ignorant’.

I was on a site where the topic of discussion was common core education.  I posted that common core education is about the dumbing down of America.  I wrote that the education system has constantly lowered its standards to include more students in the category of meeting those standards to claim they have a quality program.  The constant lowering of standards and mandates to remove subjects and change the facts in others has done more to impede America’s ability to compete on the world scene than anything else.  All the while for a purpose none other than trying to make students feel good about themselves.

One of the other posters on there had difficulty differentiating between there, they’re and their; and was also misspelling words left and right.  It seemed to me that if you are going to discuss education in an educated manner, one should be able to spell at a level higher than fourth grade.

After having to decipher what this poster was trying to say several times I nicely corrected the person about their inability to spell.  Their response was to call me a “grammar Nazi” and insist that I left the conversation if I was going to be that way. I then explained the difference between spelling and grammar to this person and stated that I had said nothing about their grammar.  Again they attacked me for doing so, stating I was just trying to interrupt the conversation with conservative crap.

I went on to explain that I was as entitled to voice my view of the subject as anyone else and stated that I had not seen a computer that did not alert for misspelled words since at least the early 1990’s which meant that this person not only did not know how to spell, but did not know or care enough to correct the errors.

Again, this poster called me a Nazi I guess for making points in an educated manner.  I have addressed why people label others in previous posts and won’t revisit them here, but suffice it to say that this poster validated my points about people who label others.

I decided the niceties were not effective and responded with “I have tried to be nice about your lack of education and comprehension of the English language, however your incessant misuse of the language requires castigation in a manner that will show you the error of your ways.”

Their response was “You dumbass you can’t castrate a woman!”

She was taking the side of common core is good for our children and the nation because it will put everyone on the same level of playing field.  I think she supports common core because it will allow her to feel she is smarter than she really is.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Education, General Rantings, Soap Box, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

