Honesty, The Best Policy

Yesterday on my way to my hunting land I was listening to a talk show host on the radio with a caller speaking about the Garner incident. I hit a 55 mph zone and slowed down while ranting alone how I thought host’s point of view was out of whack. Normally, I wait until my speedometer hits 55 and reset the cruise control, but in my lone rant I forgot to and soon found myself rebutting hosts’s statements while driving. 3 miles later I noticed a police car approaching in the oncoming lanes. I looked down at the speedometer and realized I screwed up and pulled over before the police officer could even turn around, which he did.

As he walked up to the car I already had license, registration and proof of insurance out in my hand.

“Good Morning Sir” he said.

“Boy did I (explicative) up!” I replied. “I was listening to this talk show host on the radio and forgot to set the cruise control. Since I wasn’t agreeing with what he was saying evidently my foot took control of the situation in a less than favorable manner.”

He asked what the conversation was about and I told him the Reader’s Digest condensed version of the on air conversation. I then told him that no matter what the reasoning for my speed, I violated the law and that was all there was to it.

Still waiting for him to take my documents, he looked at me and said my honesty with him was refreshing, recommended that I not let a talk show host get my goat in the future so I would not speed and wished me a Merry Christmas as he headed back to his vehicle.

I was surprised, but thankful for his handling of the situation. I wished him a Merry Christmas too and proceeded the rest of the way to my timber land without the radio on and the cruise control set.

The moral of the story, I guess it would be honesty is the right answer; and if my goat ever comes up missing, I’ll know a talk show host has it.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Education, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

