Perception

 

A person’s perception matures with age like a fine wine. – ME

I have been thinking about this since I got my grades for the fall semester at the university I attend.  When I was in elementary, middle and high school, I only excelled at classes I enjoyed.  Over the years math, manual drafting, film making, photography, and radio announcing were basically the only classes I enjoyed and therefore the only classes that I earned an ‘A’ or ‘B’ grade.

Flash forward 40+ years and I finally matured enough to attend college.  I have attended 25 classes in two full years and have scored 18 A’s, 5 B’s and 2 C’s.  The C’s I received were in classes where I saw the teacher’s views and style were vastly unaligned with what was important.  Once class the teacher wanted us to memorize the definition of the terms taught in class instead of the principles of the class; and the other the teacher docked people on tests if they abbreviated or did not show their work even though they arrived at the correct answer.

Now I have 13 classes left to receive bachelor’s degrees in Business Management and Photography and if I can squeeze out no more than three B’s and the rest A’s, I can graduate Magna Cum Laude.  Will this mean anything to anyone but me?  No, but it will prove to myself that I can still set goals and achieve them.

If I had the funds, I would go another year and also get a degree in theology, but that is not going to happen so I will just focus on the finish line next December and keep striving for that goal.

Had I gone to college right out of high school, I can say that I am 100% positive that I would have failed, or dropped out.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Education, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Perception

  1. moonseafish says:

    I find that I see that a lot. People who either do well in college because they waited to attend, or wish that they would have waited because they would have been able to focus on it more. It’s a lot of money in tuition, and time to devote to something.

    Right out of high school the amount of freedom you are given can be overwhelming, and even just a year or two could help you focus on giving more of an undivided attention to school.

  2. Julia says:

    Just stopped in to say “hi”! I miss you. Hope all is well with you. Merry Christmas my friend.
    Peace always. Firemajic

Leave a Reply

