The Iowegian Christmas

There was a time when the children were younger that we would drive 70 miles to one grandparent’s home Christmas morning and then after lunch drive 70 miles back for Christmas dinner with the other grandparent.  After dinner, we would pile in the car again and drive the 20 miles home from there; and it was no big deal.

Now, I am one of the grandparents and spent all of Christmas Eve preparing food for when they came over Christmas morning.  I tried to keep up with the two grandchildren until lunch time and then after lunch when I was thinking nap, the grandkids were still thinking Papa needed to play with them more.

They stayed for five glorious hours and we had a great time watching each one open their gifts.  After they left, the wife and I cleaned the kitchen and remnants of the wrapping paper scattered around the living room and then settled in for a nice quiet evening.  The more time that passed, the more tired I became and then I turned in around 9:00 last night and was sound asleep within seconds.

This morning I woke up still tired and sore from playing yesterday.  It’s amazing how tired a 3 year old can make someone 20 times her age.  Yesterday, and the preparation leading up to yesterday, wore me out and yet I find myself looking to next year’s iteration already.

I guess what I’m trying to say is: We here in rural Iowegia had a wonderful Christmas yesterday and I hope you all did too!

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

