Quality Time

I went deer hunting with my son for the first time in five years (I think it’s five, might be six).  We drove down to the forest together and arrived about 30 minutes before shooting light.  The whole way down we shared light conversation about nothing important and I loved it.

While hunting we pushed our way through some of the thickest brambles of multi-floral rose, thorny locust, and wild blackberry brambles that I have ever seen and I loved it.  The clay ground was wet and we soon had an additional 10 pounds of clay clinging to our boots as we made our way back and forth through the timber looking for deer and I loved it.

Around 2:00 PM he shot a six point buck that I had coaxed to go his direction, and I loved that too.  We then dragged that deer 80 yards uphill to his truck with the extra clay still adding weight to our feet together grunting all the way, and I loved that too.

After dressing his deer and hanging it the barn down at the forest, we drove home together still holding light conversation about topics of no importance and I loved that too.  We arrived at his home where I left my vehicle and I spent a few moments with my granddaughter and grandson and loved that too.

Stiff and sore I drove home quietly contemplating the day I had spent with my son.  I thought about the effort it took to get a deer for him and the cuts and scratches the thorns had torn into my hands.  I thought about the clay that added weight to every step I took and how in the valleys I overheated from the layers of clothes and then on the hilltops the cold north wind cutting through those layers.  As I drove the 30 miles home, my thoughts of spending a whole day with my son helped alleviate the aches and pains and I loved it.

After getting home, I showered in water as hot as I could stand it. letting the water loosen the muscles that had worked hard all day.  Afterwards I took a couple pain killers and went to bed.  I fell asleep quickly and slept hard throughout the night.  Awaking this morning I could hardly walk.  My hips, knees, shoulders, and back are extremely sore and painful when I move them and I realize that I have fallen out of love with yesterday.

I was so happy to spend the day with my adult son that I overdid it and I do not regret that at all.  But next time we go out to do something fun, I think I’ll pace myself a wee bit more.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

