Taking Self Inventory

I went to bed last night at the usual time, around 10:00 PM.  The days of staying up to welcome in the new year have long passed into the realm of what once was.  When I woke up this morning, it didn’t look any different than yesterday, but it is; it is a new year.  It is like we put last year away and given ourselves a fresh start.

As usual for New Year’s Eve, I took inventory of the year and myself before heading off for the night of unconscious festivities.  I checked off my accomplishments, my shortcomings, and the items still on my list of Wannado’s.

My accomplishments included knocking out 13 more classes towards my two degrees which I will finish up this year with a GPA of 3.85.  I still have 14 more classes to complete this year with a GPA of 3.75 or better to graduate Magna Cum Laude (which is one of my goals).

My shortcomings included still being easily irked by the actions of others.  Sometimes when I see the actions of others that I have absolutely no control over, I still become agitated when I should be repeating the Serenity Prayer which says “God, grant me serenity to accept the things I cannot change, the courage to change the things I can, and the wisdom to know the difference. Amen”

For some reason I still think that if I call attention to many things, I will make a difference when I should be wise enough to realize that I might find like minds who agree with me, but that does not constitute change.  Change would necessitate me calling attention with the charisma to be the catalyst for others to want to join in while spreading the cause.

These shortcomings require daily attention to overcome and I recorded my shortcomings in the front of my annual planner where they are easily found to be confronted and defeated.

Wannado’s are like goals, they are attainable as long as I want to strive towards them.  I am the first to admit that many times we say we want to do something, but don’t strive to reach that goal.  These items that we give lip service only to are nothing more than blowing smoke up our own derrières. To be qualified as an item on a Wannado list, it has to be on the list for more than a year and you have to have set an accomplishment date to strive to get it done.  Everything on my Wannado list have been there for more than two years with accomplishment dates coming up in the next two years and therefore have value.

So what did you do for the new year?  Did you take a self inventory and come up with a self improvement schedule within your inventory?

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Nourishment For The Soul, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

