Temperature Induced Stuttering

Yesterday it was 43° Fahrenheit with sunshine.  I went to a nearby county park and hiked along the riverbank for five miles, took my time enjoying the different stones lining the bank and the wonders around me.  It felt great to be out like that on the 3rd day of January and life was good.

During the night, a smattering of snow fell and took the temperature with it.  This morning it was 0° F (-18° Celsius), and the wind was howling. A 43° drop overnight was a bit much. I took the dog outside so he could take care of business and found myself saying “Talk about chu-chu-chu-changes!  Hu-hu-hurry up dog!”  Thus an episode of temperature induced stuttering.

7 hours later it has now warmed up to a balmy 7°.   There is a light coating of snow right now which somehow makes it less depressing to have it so cold outside, but that drastic of a change is still shocking.

I had heard some people talking last night who were saying once the bottom fell out of the temperature, at least it would be too cold to snow.  I’d like to go back to those people, and ask “with single digit temperatures, how do you explain the 4-7 inches of snow that we’re expecting tomorrow?”

With that off my chest, it is now time to get my three sets of book bags setup for the new semester that starts tomorrow.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

