Separation of Church and State

The Chancellor of Troy University sent out an email with a video.  The video talked about how a Chinese friend had talked to him about how religion is a strong force to build moral behavior of people.  The friend went on to ask what would happen to democracy if morality removed.  An atheist group soon demanded an apology after the email was sent.

This whole event was discussed on Good Morning America which brought many fanatical atheists out to lambaste religion.   They went on with the usual insults calling religion ‘storybook fantasy’ and the other usual responses.  When others started commenting on behalf of people of faith, many of the attacks turned into personal attacks on the pro-religion posters.

One person, atheistic but level minded posted “I’m an atheist, and I see no reason for an apology. Furthermore, I definitely agree with Father Morris that as Christians don’t like people in their ranks that make them look bad, I can’t stand it when I hear about these atheist groups who act like #$%$ and make folks like me look bad. I want a country where people are free to believe as they see fit, so long as it doesn’t hurt others. I wish that right for myself, and I don’t force my beliefs or lack thereof onto others. I must be a lousy atheist, because sometimes I think I’m the only one who isn’t out to push my thoughts on everyone else.”

Almost immediately he received multiple dislikes for his comments (and it wasn’t from the people of faith).

Another person responded to his comment with “I’m a Christian and i kind of Agree with what you are saying . Stop all this fighting enjoy life , Be an American …”  This person’s comment was disliked by four others within seconds followed by comments claiming that Christian zealots made up the whole story and no atheist group demanded an apology.

Finally, I posted “There is nowhere in the Constitution or Bill of Rights where it says “separation of church and state”. That was in a letter from Thomas Jefferson to the Danbury Baptist Association who had petitioned Jefferson to make the Baptist Church the official state church. Jefferson’s response was to say that there should not be an official church, like what we had fled from in England which the Church of England was the only permissible church and all others (Quakers, Catholics, etc) were unlawful. The first Amendment says there will be no official church recognized by the government and religion will not be impeded by the government. It does not say anything about keeping religion out of government. The President of the United States is sworn into office using a Bible. Congress is opened with a prayer. People who join the military take an oath ending with “So help me God”. God is in the Pledge of Allegiance, “In God We Trust” is on our currency. 

If you look at the Constitution of the United States of America, Article 1 Section 7 states within the article “If any Bill shall not be returned by the President within ten Days (Sundays excepted) after it shall have been presented to him, the Same shall be a Law, in like Manner as if he had signed it, unless the Congress by their Adjournment prevent its Return, in which Case it shall not be a Law.”  Why would Sundays be excepted if religion was not part of the government?  Without religion, there is absolutely no reason to except Sundays.

Finally, Article 7 is closed with “Done in convention by the unanimous consent of the states present the seventeenth day of September in the year of our Lord one thousand seven hundred and eighty seven and of the independence of the United States of America the twelfth.”  “the year of our Lord” references God.

 You can dislike this post all you want and it does not change the facts. God is the foundation of this country.”

Of course I received a deluge of hate responses and dislikes but like I said before denying or disliking the truth does not change it one iota.

Personally, if a person wants to live his/her short period in this mortal life denying God to themselves, I could not care less.  It is when those feel the need to attack others because the others have something the atheist cannot fathom that I take offense and will defend my faith.

Although all of my posts are copyrighted, I do encourage people of faith to become less like the sheep and more like the shepherd that protects his flock from the wolves that lurk in the shadows.

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, General Rantings, Nourishment For The Soul, Politics, Religion, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

