Indian Summer

Why is a break in the cold weather called ‘Indian Summer’?  There are many theories behind this, but no one knows for sure.  If you look up the definition, you see that it is in fall when after a hard frost comes a high pressure that allows warm days and chilly nights.

Growing up, my parents and grandparents always called a mid winter thaw an Indian Summer.  This is the definition that I was raised with back then, so this is the definition I will stick with.

Our ‘Indian Summer’ for this year started yesterday when the temperatures reached 42°F with not a cloud in the sky and little if any breeze.  Last night the temperatures dropped into the 20’s, but today we are shooting for the 50°F (10°C).  I looked out side at sunrise and where snow stood in many places yesterday morning was a sea of frost covered grass with only small islands of snow scattering the landscape.  The roofs that were covered with snow yesterday, now have a nice patina of frost in place of the snow crystals.  As the sun broke the horizon, dark colored items like the gas grill on the deck began shedding the frost in small droplets of water as the sun warmed its outer shell. I sat at the dining room table looking out at the grill anxiously awaiting the next drop to form long the bottom rim and almost held my breathe in anticipation of its fall to earth.

The same happens to humans during the Indian Summer too.  The cold that seems to seep into our very souls during the bitter cold of January and hardens our spirits and compassion; melts away during the warm days.  Even the most sour of people seem to grow nice during the short Indian Summer though they be ill tempered the rest of the year.

My cup of coffee now finished off, I shall leave you now to go out amongst my fellow Iowegians and melt away the rest of my frost covered soul and bask in the sunshine in the sky and that which radiates from the people I encounter.

Have a great weekend my friends!

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

