Color? I Have a Color For You!

For homework we were assigned to read a chapter and comment on what it teaches for a photography class.  The chapter was entitled “The Power of Color” and as soon as I saw that the acid in my stomach started acting up.

I am color blind, have been all my life except for a time that I had “X-Chrome contact lenses” that corrected my color perception deficiencies.  The Navy had these back in the seventies and somehow allowed me to see colors when I was wearing them.  The problem was the airlines lost my luggage once and those lenses were in my shaving kit inside my baggage.  Back then they cost $2000 for a pair and the airlines was not going to pay for a new set and neither was the Navy.

The more I read of the homework, the more my stomach was reacting.  The writer spoke of beautiful reds, greens and blues as primary colors and how combining this one with that one created a secondary color.  He went on how some colors like red and green (brown and brown to me), complimented each other.  He continued with pastel colors and harmonious colors.  The acid is boiling now.  Then he went on about uniformity of colors and how creatures often use the colors of their bodies to hide in the same or complimentary colors in nature.  I am now looking for anti-acids to quell the impending eruption.

Then he went into black and white photographs and I thought I was going to make it without help.  He spoke of how sometimes a black and white photo can express a mood or feeling for a photograph that a color photograph cannot.  I think I am going to live!

I turn the page and BOOM! he starts explaining how to adjust the brightness of this color and that to change a color photograph into a black and white one!  It was Pompeii all over again.  Acid gurgling up into my esophagus leaving burning embers and scorched surfaces in its wake.

I just wish for once a photography book would be written for color blind people, or better yet I wish there were glasses that normal visioned people could wear for a day that would show them the world of the color blind.

Rant over, go back to reading interesting posts elsewhere.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Soap Box, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

