Have You Ever Raced A Sunset?

Have you ever raced a sunset?
A couple of nights ago, on my way home I saw a beautiful sight and wanted to stop and take photos, but also wanted to get home to my sick wife. I decided that I would try ‘next time’. This afternoon, with a cold building inside my body and feeling pretty miserable, I thought of the view two nights ago, looked at the clock, grabbed my Canon and my Nikon and went out the door.
It wasn’t long before I realized that if I didn’t get my butt in gear I was going to miss that shot. I had 20 minutes to get 30 minutes away and start shooting.


The traffic was less than helpful in getting to my destination and I thought I was going to miss it so I stopped, snapped a photo and just then the traffic cleared up. I got to my first spot on time and shot with both cameras set to different settings. I snapped off 20-30 photographs and then headed to the next spot near Saylorville. I arrived there just in time to get some more beautiful shots.


On my way home a flock of several hundred geese took off out of a field and I stopped again for more photographs.


Now I have to review the 100+ photographs I snapped. But I won the race with the sun, at least for today.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Photography, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

