What Ever Happened to…..

What ever happened to Choco-mint Lifesaver candies?  They were my favorite Lifesaver flavor and disappeared in the early 1970’s.  How do I know this?  I’ll tell you how I know this!  When I was a young boy every summer my brother and I would spend a week with my paternal grandmother in Grinnell, Iowa and then my maternal grandparents would drive up from Searsboro, Iowa for us to spend a week with them.  Sometime during that week Grandpa would take us to the general store and buy my brother and me each a roll of Choco-mint Lifesavers and then we’d go fishing at a pond just outside of town.  Choco-mint was still around until Grandpa passed away and then suddenly they disappeared from store shelves everywhere.  From that point forward, every time I have anything that was Choco-mint whether it be a York Peppermint Pattie or Breyers Mint Chocolate Chip ice cream, my thoughts eventually turn back to grandpa.

I used to wonder whatever happened to Chuckles jelly candies, but recently they have reappeared back in one of the stores we shop at.  Back before I became a connoisseur of black licorice, I would eat the lemon, the lime, the orange, and the cherry, and then proceed to through the black licorice on that was in the middle into the trash can.  I am now a lover of good black licorice because the anise reminds me of root beer (which both the black licorice and root beer have in them).  So, when I buy a pack of Chuckles, there is no waste.

Up until today I have wondered what ever happened to Fruit Stripe gum, but much to my surprise, it is still available for order on the internet!  Fruit Stripe was the only gum to get when I was a kid.  When I grew a little older my tastes switched to Juicy Fruit gum, and then Double Mint, and now I pretty much stick to Wintergreen.

Now, if we could only get the Lifesaver Company to bring back Choco-mint.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Whatever Happened To..., Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

