Today’s Scripture & Thought for Today All Rolled into One!

Yesterday’s trip brought out a myriad of feelings and I soon found myself pondering the difference between the interstate road system and two lane highways and county roads.  On the interstate system, everyone seems to be bound to get someplace in an awful hurry.  People cutting each other off and people exceeding the speed limits creating a state of stress and even anger.  The interstate, which was designed to get people from one point to another faster, created a mindset that when we travel, it must be at a high rate of speed.

I think that is why the builders of Interstate 80 in Iowa picked the most drab and dreary route to put it on.  If there is nothing to look at and enjoy along the way, everyone will be prompted to concentrate on getting to the end quicker.  That is a shame!

I have always preferred the back roads where one can come across beautiful vistas and often see wildlife along the way.  You take your time and pass through small towns with their quaint idiosyncrasies that set them apart from others.  Maybe I am that way because I can remember life before the interstate system.  Or maybe I am that way because of my faith.

Psalm 143:5 says “I remember the days of old; I meditate on all that you have done; I ponder the work of your hands.”

You see, when you are in a hurry you cannot meditate on all God has done and you cannot ponder with awe the work of His hands.  Yet, if you slow down and not live a life centered around instant gratification you can take the time to see the beauty as I did yesterday on my way back home.  One part consisted of the road paralleling a river with the river valley stretching out on the other side of the waterway.  Another county road meandered along a ridgeline with awesome views all the way around.  To my left I could see the whole valley below and the next ridgeline a couple miles away.  To my right I saw a series of hilltops and valleys giving me a view of ten miles or more.  Way up ahead of me I could see where I would be in a little while and there just to the left of that vanishing point was the sun lighting my way.  At one point just before sunset, I looked to my left to see a herd of deer at least 40 animals strong out in a field grazing.  Driving by them did nothing to interrupt their evening meal.

Whereas my drive in the morning to my first stop had left me haggard and  stressed out, my drive home on the back roads, although an hour longer than had I taken interstates, left me physically tired from the day, but spiritually renewed from the journey.

As I have given your the scripture for today through Psalm 143:5, I now leave you with the thought for today:

“Your goal should not be focused on the destination, but where the journey can take you if you select the right path.” – ME

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Quotable Me, Religion, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

