I Shall Shout it From the Mountaintops!

‘Today I was engaged by an atheist.  During the course of the conversation I stated that a large part of America’s problem is that we’ve become a society of instant gratification and disposability.  We’ve lost the work ethic, loyalty, and the willingness to work hard, save our money and then purchase items with savings instead of as soon as the whim hits us grabbing a plastic card and then paying for it for a long time.  Had we saved for the item, a vast majority of the times we would later decide what we thought we wanted wasn’t really that important and not really wanted.

I went on that to say that I was raised with Christian values that tell us that things that are really important need to be earned.  We work through this life trying our best to live by the guidance of the Bible and ‘earn our cross cred’s’ even though eternal life is given to us by accepting Jesus the Christ as our personal Lord and Savior.

It was at this point that he called religion a farce or nothing more than a simple fantasy.  I needed no more prodding than just that to step up.  I explained that his inability or unwillingness to understand God was not carte blanche to attack my God.    I explained that I am a Christian Apologist and will not stand by quietly when someone attacks my religion.  I told him when I have a worry or question, I can randomly open my Bible and the answer is right there as my hand is guided.  I asked him if he could do that with a book on evolution or big bang theory.

As he pointed his finger at me while backing up he said “You need to learn to keep your religion to yourself!”  I stepped forward and in a perfectly calm voice reminded him that this country was founded on Christian beliefs and atheists are treading on thin ice as a very small minority when picking a fight with the majority.  I went on to say that I shall shout my belief from the mountaintops; I shall shout it from riverside; and I shall shout it from the street corner.

I will not be quieted by anyone who fails to believe as my right to free speech is not diminished one iota because of my religion, it is supported by my faith.

Halfway through my last response he turned and started walking away.  I think he might have decided he picked a fight with the wrong guy.

The fool hath said in his heart, There is no God. They are corrupt, they have done abominable works, there is none that doeth good. Psalm 14:1

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Religion, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

