A Day of Firsts; a Day to Remember

Today our children and grandchildren came over to celebrate my son’s birthday and my wife’s birthday.  My wife and I went to the market very early this morning and picked up two pounds of Asian Tiger Shrimp, which by the way are HUGE, 5 New York Strip Steaks, Asparagus, Mushrooms, makings for Cheesy Hash Browns, corn, and a German Chocolate Cake, which is my son’s favorite.

While we were preparing the meal before the kids got here, we received a message from my son.  At first I thought it was going to be a message saying they couldn’t make it after all, but instead it was a video of my grandson taking his first steps on his own.  My wife and I must have watched that video over and over again for at least 30 times before getting back to preparing the meal.

They all finally got here and we sat down to eat and boy did we eat.  After dining, I told my son we needed to run into town and get something for his mother.  I said it was too heavy for me to get by myself and he agreed to help me.  We drove over to the sporting goods store and once inside I walked straight back to the fishing supplies and told him “I know you told me there was a rod and reel you wanted, so we’re here to get it.”

He protested that it was too expensive and I informed him that I would let him know when he had spent enough.  After testing out several rods, he finally picked one and then picked out a reel to go with it.  He told me that was all he wanted and I reminded him that he would need fishing line.  After we bought everything he needed, as we walked out he thanked me with his voice trembling.  I could see he was overwhelmed so I looked at him and said that’s what fathers do for great sons.

On the way back home, which was a twenty minute drive, we talked about the first time I took him fishing.  He remembered everything even though it had been 28 years.  He asked me “Do you remember the pole?”

“Yep, it was a red and white Mickey Mouse rod and reel.”

“I thought about that pole the other day” he said.

“Do you want it?” I asked.

“What do you mean?”

“If you want it, I have it out in the shed.  I have been keeping it all these years until you had children you could teach to fish with it.  You’ll have to clean it up because it hasn’t been used in 26 years or so, but it’s yours if you want it.”

“You really still have it?” he asked with a tear in his eye.

“Yep, Mom tried to throw it away a couple times, but I wouldn’t let her.  You should never through away anything associated with very fond memories.”

When we got back to the house his three year old daughter and I went out to the shed and got the pole.  She looked at Mickey Mouse’s picture on the reel and said “Papa! It’s Mickey Mouse!  He’s so cute.”

We walked back to the house while she inspected the rod and reel.  Once inside she showed it to her daddy who carefully examined it from one end to the other.  “I can fix this up in nothing flat!” he announced.

He gave the pole back to my granddaughter who soon lost interest in it and laid it on the floor.  My grandson saw his opportunity and crawled as fast as his little arms would carry him over to the new toy.  He looked at it and then picked it up.  I was amazed at the way he was holding it.

Then he sat it on its end and looked at me for the second shot.

I thought that he would be fishing in no time at all.

What a wonderful day with new memories to attach to the old ones!

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

