As An American….

I have rights.  I have the right to freely speak.  I have the right to practice my religion without the government interfering.  I have the right to bear arms.  I have the right to live my life without unreasonable search and seizure.  I have the right to not self-incriminate.  I have the right to a speedy and public trial by an impartial jury.  I have the right not to be treated with cruel and unusual punishments nor excessive fines.  I have enumerated rights not specifically spelled out in the Constitution.  The list goes on and on.

My rights are no more important than any other’s rights.  Nor are they any less important than any other’s.  However, in today’s society there are those who say differently.  Rachel Maddow recently posted that “Gov. Bobby Jindal (R), not surprisingly, told msnbc the proposal is “not about discriminating against anyone,” so much as it’s about “religious freedom.”

There’s ample evidence to the contrary.

In fact, this is a rather classic example of how one official’s personal ambitions can do real harm to a lot of people.”

She went on to say:  “Indiana, of course, faced widespread condemnations and a private-sector backlash when it pursued it’s “Religious Freedom Restoration Act,” and the hope among civil-rights proponents was that the uproar would discourage other states from pursuing a similar policy. But those hopes arguably had it backwards – Louisiana’s governor would very likely welcome an ugly and divisive culture-war fight. Jindal wants to put himself at the center of the storm, valiantly fighting back against the forces of liberalism, tolerance, and respect.”

Fighting back against the forces of liberalism, tolerance and respect?  How is trying to force people of faith to turn their backs on said faith to satisfy a person’s lifestyle choice respectful or tolerant?

My right to practice my religious beliefs are protected in the First Amendment and no one’s lifestyle choices outweigh that right.

I don’t give a hoot how someone wants to live their life as long as they:

1.  Does not harm another physically; and

2.  Does not try to mandate my acceptance.

Enough said.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Soap Box, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

