We Celebrated!

We celebrated our grandson’s first birthday today Korean style.  Not only were the wife and I present, but also all of the in-laws.  That would be 11 adults and six children ranging from 8 years old down to a few months old all in one little house.

My wife prepared Kalbi (grilled beef short ribs), Japje (clear noodles with veggies mixed in), fried green beans, fried rice, and a salad with lettuce, peas, cheese, mayo, bacon, and who knows what else.

After dinner we dressed our grandson in traditional Korean clothes called Hanbok to take his photo and allow him to choose between a pencil, a notebook, a length of thread or a hundred dollar bill.  Korean tradition states whatever he takes first will foretell what he will do in life.  He grabbed the money and notebook at the same time indicating that he will be a wealthy scholar ;-).

We took more photos of him and then he opened his gifts.  For a one year old he did quite well for himself.  Toys and cash to start his education fund.

Finally, we stripped him down to his diaper and turned him loose on his first birthday cake.  To start out he got just a dab of frosting on his finger and then as the sugar set in he went to town on his cake.  When he had his first sugar buzz at his peak, we took him upstairs to bathe the frosting from head to toe off of him.

As the in-laws left, one little boy (my daughter-in-law’s nephew) came running up to me and gave me a hug and kiss.  When my granddaughter protested that I was her ‘Papa’, he told her that I was his ‘Papa’ too.  That made me smile.

The drive home was pretty uneventful but when I got home, I was ready to crash.  I wanted to process some photos first and post this before I succumbed to sleep.  With that I will say what a wonderful day and now for some wonderful sleep.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

