Just a Fond Memory

“Christopher Robin and I walked along

under branches lit up by the moon.

Posing our questions to Owl and Eeyore

As our day’s disappeared all too soon.”

Loggins and Messina’s song ‘House at Pooh Corner’ starts with those words and go on to describe a yearning for simpler times as a child.  Of all the songs they performed over the years, this one was always at the top of my favorites.

I had not listened to any of my Loggins and Messina albums or CD’s for a long time, but yesterday morning woke up with this song playing in my head.  I sat on the edge of the bed as the tune played in my brain and a feeling of melancholy washed over me.  Then as inexplicable tears welled up in my eyes, I realized why I had not listened to them for so long.

Years ago while looking through Mom’s CD collection I came across a Kenny Loggins CD amongst mostly gospel and a few country music CD’s.  Surprised I ribbed her about being a closet Loggins fan.  She looked at me with a hint of bemusement and reminded me of my youth.  She used to yell at me to turn that infernal racket whenever I cranked up my stereo to listen to my music.  She then said if I thought about it, she never told me to turn it down when I played the LP that had this song on it.  She said she had loved this song from the first time she heard it blaring out of my room.

When Mom passed away, I could not listen to this song without missing her, so I put the CD’s away and went on with life finding other music to fill the gap.  Then yesterday morning this song forced its way back into my life.  I guess it was time to deal with the music I love and how it brings back both painful and fond memories.

This morning, my wife left the house for sunrise service.  As I heard the garage door close again I got up out of bed and went to the basement.  There in the storage room was a box on the shelf marked CD’s and LP’s.  I carefully took it down off the shelf and set it on the workbench.  There lying on top of all the other CD’s was what I was looking for.  It was Mom’s Kenny Loggins CD.  I took it out and came back upstairs.  As I put it in the CD player, I cranked up the volume and cued it to House at Pooh Corner and hit ‘PLAY’.

As I listened to Kenny sing the lyrics I yelled “I hope it’s loud enough for you Mom!”

After that song was finished, I went back to the basement and brought up other Loggins and Messina CD’s.  I was still listening to them when my wife arrived back home.  As she walked in the door she yelled “Turn that down!  You’re going to go deaf!”  I guess my wife doesn’t appreciate good music like Mom did.  Yet, on the other hand, it wasn’t “House at Pooh Corner”.  I smiled and turned it down a bit and went back to listening to songs from a much simpler era.

Sorry to have bored you with this story, but I needed to share.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

