Thought for Today

Here’s something to think about….

Over a month ago I bought a loaf of Seven Grain Bread from Sara Lee.  I brought it home and put it up in the cabinet where we keep our bread.  That same day I was reading about how the body cannot burn off certain items and one listed was bread due to the glutens.  I further read that it is full of starch, which turns to sugar in the system and I decided to cut my bread intake.

Today when I got home, I went to get some spices out of the spice rack to use during dinner.  There on the shelf underneath the spices was that loaf of bread.  I thought to myself “This has to be stale and moldy” and I took it out of the cabinet.

I looked the load inside the bread bag over and didn’t see any mold.  I squeezed the bag and it was still very pliable.  Where I squeezed it, it bounced back to its former shape.  That is when it really hit me.

This loaf of bread had to be crammed full of preservatives.  Here I thought when I was eating this whole grain bread was eating healthier than breads with processed flour.  But if you put all those preservatives into your body are you any better off than putting processed flour into your system?

I don’t know the answer, but it is irrelevant.  Even though I love fresh baked breads and rolls, it’s time to go our separate ways.  I guess next time I hit a fast food place it will be a grilled chicken sandwich, hold the bun.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Gastric Pleasures, General Rantings, Getting Green, Soap Box, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

