Thought For Today

When you are welcomed into your neighbor’s home, you have no right at all to tell them how to live their lives.ME

One thing I have never understood about most Americans, even though I was born and raised here is how some of us expect other nations to adapt to our lifestyles instead of us adapting to their when we travel abroad.

There is a reason that the old adage “When in Rome, do as the Romans do” has lasted all these years.  When I travelled to Korea, I learned the Korean language and customs.  Then, I respected their ways.  When I travelled to Germany, I learned German and their customs.  I also respected their ways.  When I went to Panama, I learned Spanish and their ways.

Yet, no matter where I went, I saw ugly Americans who expected their host country natives to speak English and for them to give up traditions that we might take offense to.  These same people could not understand that when overseas, it is we who are the foreigners.

In Kenya today, Obama told the Kenyans they needed to change their views of homosexuality claiming it is a human rights issue.  He also made a statement on how corrupt the government is there.

What he and others fail to understand is that human rights ideology is only as valid as the host nation wants it to be.  The other thing he fails to understand is that an American politician has no ground to stand on to claim other politicians are corrupt.  I would dare to say America has one of the highest percentages of corrupt politicians of any nation on earth.

I’m done for now.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Politics, Soap Box, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

