Organ Donor?

I have gone back and forth on whether or not to post this for a long time, but in the end it is too important to pass on to let it go.

I used to have organ donor checked on my drivers license as I thought helping out the living after I am gone was important.  I had it that way until my mother passed away.

In 2007 when Mom died, as the eldest next of kin present, I was asked by an organ donor representative if they could harvest some of her skin off her back to use in skin grafts for burn patients.  I agreed to let them do that and thought it was done.

Mom was laid to rest the following week and then it started.  First, it was a phone call from the organ donor chapter closest to my home called me to pass on their condolences.  Then, I received a book in the mail telling me how someone determined it was best to grieve.

The next week, I got two more calls and more pamphlets in the mail.  The week after, more calls and more literature.  For a month and a half it kept coming with regular frequency.  No matter what I told them, they kept calling and sending stuff in the mail.  I told them to leave us alone so we could grieve and they ignored our requests.

Six weeks after Mom was buried, I told them if I heard one more word from them, I would file suit against them for harassment.  I also told them that I was going to the drivers license office to have my organ donor registration removed from my drivers license.  It was at this point that the person on the other end of the phone line told me that organs are badly needed and to change my drivers license I was hurting someone down the road!

I went berserk and told that person that it was their actions that resulted in my reaction.  Had they left me alone as I requested my status would not have changed.  However, they refused to let us work through the grieving process.

Now 8 years later, my drivers license still has an “N” next to organ donor, not because I don’t care about others who might benefit from my organs, but because I will not put my family through the constant harassment from these people after I am gone.  Some have told me that this was an isolated incident, but no one can guarantee it would not happen again & I love my children and grandchildren too much to expose them to this treatment.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in General Rantings, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

