Did You Know……

Did you know that the male of the human species should only get 12 grams of sugar per day.  The female of the species should only get 9 grams of sugar per day.  Knowing this, look at these facts:

A hamburger sandwich  has 5 grams of sugar in the meat and another 3 grams in the bun.

A coke has 44 grams of sugar in one can.

There are an ungodly amount of sugars in Chinese food.

Breakfast cereals, most of them have more than a few days worth of sugar in them.  Even plain Cheerios has sugar in it.

After hearing the daily intake needs for males, I started looking at everything I eat.  If it had more than 3 grams of sugar, it does not go into my diet.  The exception to the rule is fruit.  I allow myself raspberries and/or blackberries on my cereal because they are full of anti-oxidants.

I find it is still difficult to drive by my old eating haunts and even at school where it seems half of the people are walking around with bagels, breakfast sandwiches, or hamburgers.  Even so, I fight the urge and drink water and eat low/no sugar snacks.

After four weeks of eating foods that don’t hold a sugar buzz hidden within their flavor, I have lost 13 pounds.  I know the losses will fluctuate so I have probably a year of dieting to get back to my goal.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Gastric Pleasures, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

