Veteran’s Day

With tomorrow being Veteran’s Day, I started thinking about my own service to America.  Here are some basics:

I initially enlisted over 40 years ago in the Navy.

I served one tour on sea duty and 11 months of shore duty before exiting the Navy.

The day after I exited the Navy, I joined the Army.

During my second tour in the Army I was stationed on an Air Force base in Germany and saw how the Air Force personnel were living compared to Army living conditions.

After I left the Army, I joined the Air Force.

During my total career, I visited 36 countries and circled the globe three times.

33 years, 1 month, and 7 days after I first enlisted, I retired from the military.

The time I spent in the military, abused my body so much that when I retired, I was told I had the joints of a 70 year old.

If I had to do it all over again knowing what I would go through during those 33 years, I would.

From Beginning to End, I served my God and my country.

To all the military veterans out there I say enjoy your day, you earned it.

God Bless!

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

