Thought For Today

When you decide to snub the majority to win over the minority you lose. – ME

DISCLAIMER:  I couldn’t care less about what the company that inspired this thought does, but they are the perfect example of how far ‘political correctness’ is illogical.

Starbucks decided this year to forgo its’ normal festive holiday cup for a plain cup to, as the company says “be more inclusive”.  This, for reasons I don’t understand has upset a lot of people who the media identifies as ‘Christians’.

The United States is still predominantly Christian and if you snub your nose that the majority in an effort to draw in business from a minority, you have just thrown away the largest market share to capture a smaller portion of that market.  That, my friends is bad business practice!

Now, Dunkin Donuts jumps into the fray by coming out with a festive cup with the word “JOY” on it.  This cup design and marketing move is based in logic.  Their major competitor has irked customers by taking away what they had previously enjoyed and DD jumps in and says why not come to us, we’ll give you what you want.  I really expect to see DD’s sales to increase over this well timed move.

Starbucks as far as I am concerned is an overrated coffee chain that charges way too much for second rate coffee.  I don’t care what they do because no matter what, I don’t spend my money on their product.  In the same light, I have tried DD’s coffee and am not impressed with it either, but I know some people will make the move to them now that they are filling the empty niche.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Business, Nourishment For The Soul, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

