How Dare I Wish You a Merry Christmas?

On Friday a cashier at a store said “Happy Holidays” to me and I responded with “Merry Christmas to you too!”  The cashier appeared upset that I used the ‘MC’ phrase.

The salutation of ‘Merry Christmas’ is thought to be taboo by many for fear that someone will be insulted by it if they are not a Christian.  Do you know what that salutation means?

Christmas is the time of year that Christians celebrate the birth of Jesus the Christ.

It is a celebration of the Prince of PEACE.

It is a celebration acknowledging the Son of God was born to give us salvation.

It is a greeting of GOOD WILL.

It is a salutation to transmit HEALTH, HAPPINESS, and PROSPERITY.

If your undies get in a bunch every time someone wishes you a Merry Christmas, you must want tribulation, ill will, and strife.  That has to be a terrible life!

So, I will wish you a Merry Christmas anyway and ask that you take it as a way for me to wish you a peaceful and harmonious season.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Soap Box, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

