Thought for Today

I was doing a little light reading in the form of a study that was conducted at Rice University by sociologist Elaine Ecklund.  She sent out questionnaires to 2000 scientists.  Of the 2000 sent out, just shy of 1700 were returned.

The questionnaire to these scientists were whether or not they believe in God.  36% said they believe in God in one degree or another.  Of those who did not believe in God, their non-belief was not a result of their scientific study, but because a variety of reasons from they weren’t raised in a religious home to they disapprove of God.

That last one got me.  It got me to thinking real good.  These scientists are allegedly the cream of the intellectual crop yet they come up with “I disapprove of you, therefore you don’t exist”?  Think of how great that could be!  “I disapprove of this policy!” and POOF! it’s gone!  “I disapprove of the president!” and in a puff of smoke he is no longer there!

So my thought for today is:

Your disapproval in something does not alter reality in one iota. ~ ME

I won’t even go into the fact that 36% of the people who study natural science believe in one shape or another that a supreme being exists.  Even as a minority, I would consider this a very significant number.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Religion, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

