Thought for Today

 

I often get asked how I am doing when I am out and about.  I have a cache of answers for that question:

  • “fair to midland” (whatever the heck that means);
  • “hunky-doree” (which I don’t know what that means either);
  • “can’t complain” (even if I did complain it wouldn’t do any good);
  • “still on the sunny side of the sod” (which is about as non-committal as you can get);
  • “wait, I have to find a pulse before I can answer that”;
  • “alive and kicking”; and
  • “Still about 12′ higher than where I am headed.” (I am 6′ tall and when you are buried you are 6′ under, thus 12′).

I learned a long time ago that this greeting of “How are you?” actually means “I am acknowledging your existence, but please don’t bother me, I don’t care.”  To prove this, I started a while back with responding with answers like:

  • “Dead”;
  • “Just killed a cat”;
  • “Stalkingly good”;  and
  • “On the lam.”

Not a single person has hesitated or questioned the response.

I think for the future, I will go with a politically incorrect response of “May God Bless You” and smile.  That ought to mess with their heads for a while.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

