The Domino Effect

Last week David Bowie passed away from cancer and I sat down and listened to Space Oddity, The Man Who Sold the World, and Under Pressure.  With each song, I remembered that point in life when the songs became popular.

A few days ago we learned of the death of Glenn Frey of The Eagles.  Again, I thumbed through my CD collection to pull out Eagles CD’s.  Most of them were released when I was in high school and these songs all bring back memories, some good and some not so good.  One of my favorites has always been the song “Best of My Love”.

Yesterday, on the drive home, a local oldies station was playing nothing but Eagles songs.  As I neared my town The Best of my Love came on the radio.  There is a part of the song where it goes:

“I’m goin’ back in time
And it’s a sweet dream
It was a quiet night
And I would be all right
If i could go on sleepin'”

How omenesque were these words.  Last night I went to bed around 11:00 PM and quickly fell into a deep sleep.  In that spirit state of sleep I was transported back to early 1975.  This song had always been a good make out song as a teen and there I was with my girlfriend at that time sitting in the car in her father’s driveway with the windows all fogged up from the heat of passion.

“But every mornin’
I wake up and worry
What’s gonna happen today
You see it your way
And I see it mine
But we both see it slippin’ away”

My dream fast forwarded to basic training at Great Lakes Naval Training Center, Great Lakes, Illinois.  Every mail call I hoped and prayed for a letter from home.  While many of my comrades were getting letters from their wives and girlfriends, or parents and siblings, I went weeks without communication from anyone.

Then, one day, I got a letter and when I saw the return address, my heart skipped a beat.  It was from my girlfriend.  I opened the letter with quiet anticipation only to find the words no one ever wants to read.  “I could never be serious about someone who would join the military” the words went.  “I do hope we can still be friends though” they continued.  I didn’t remember the rest of the letter in the dream, but I did feel the pain of my heart being torn apart with no one to console me.  I remember throwing that letter away and sadly making my way through the rest of my basic training.

Then, I woke up this morning with The Best of My Love playing in my head.  I got up and made myself a cup of coffee and sat down at the kitchen table to stare blindly into space as I sipped the hot, black brew.  As I did so, the thought that this song was prophetic back when it was released as to how my relationship with my first love would go.

All these years later, and though the ocean currents of life have drifted us so many miles apart, deep in the recesses of my heart there is still a small spot that still sparks when I think of that Irish lass with her beautiful blue eyes.  To that young lady I raise my cup of coffee and hope you found what you are looking for.  I did.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Memories, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

