Thought for Today

A person, thinking they were being quite witty or philosophical posted on a social media site:

“There is not a single religion that can survive these two words:  PROVE IT”

My response to that person would be:

“Before you mock religion and therefore God, PROVE HE DOES NOT EXIST”

You see, religious people base their beliefs on FAITH.  That is believing in something without tangible proof.  Just as religious people believe if God (if you belong to one of the three major monotheistic religions), atheists base their belief that God does not exist also purely on FAITH.

While writing this post, I wanted to use a standard definition for faith and quickly Googled it to get their definition.  Although not completely surprised, even Google has it wrong.   The second definition listed when you type in “Faith definition” on the search bar is:

“strong belief in God or in the doctrines of a religion, based on spiritual apprehension rather than proof.” 

Are they claiming I believe in God because I am fearful?  To be sure, I typed “apprehension definition” into the Google search bar and the most common response was:

“anxiety or fear that something bad or unpleasant will happen.”

Do I ‘fear’ God?  Fear is not the right word here.  I honor God.

Do I base my beliefs out of apprehension?  I base my belief out of my understanding what is right and wrong and how the Bible gives us the understanding of morality and ethics for civilized life.  The Old Testament is the law that originally condemned all to eternal death as no human could abide by all 613 laws found within.  The New Testament tells us how to live in this life to be rewarded with the next life.

I worship, through adoration and reverence, God.  I know that He can do with me as He pleases and the only control I have over that is to live my life as virtuously as possible so that when it comes time for judgment He will know whether or not I did my best.  But to fear something you have no control over is foolishness.

To live your life contemplating ‘what if’ prevents you from living in and enjoying ‘what is’. ~ ME

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Quotable Me, Religion, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

