Thought for Today

I have been trying to start my second career now that I have finished my studies at the university.  In one month’s time I applied for 30+ positions.  Until last week I had not heard back from anyone.  Then, I started getting these emails from places I sent resumes and applications to saying “Thank you….We have decided to hire someone who more closely meets our requirements.”

Every one of those jobs I was highly qualified for, so the only factor is my age.  Although my age is not listed on the app or resume anywhere, by looking at my work history it is easily determined.  So I decided to do a little research.

Job hopping has been a trend that has been going ever since businesses started shipping jobs overseas.  Right now, employees stay with the same employer for an average of 4.4 years.  So if you hire someone right out of college with no experience, you will have to train that person and then pay them through their adjustment period where they get up to speed.  You will have one or more years invested before they are performing so you can expect to get 3 to 3.4 years from them before they move on.

I, on the other hand, am from the generation that tends to stay with an employer who is loyal to them.  I already have the training and experience so, other than the company orientation period, can hit the floor running.

But, I also got a pleasant surprise last week too.  I had a telephonic interview with one of the employers that went well.  Two days later I received an email stating that they wanted to do a face to face interview with me.  Yesterday I received another call and they set the interview here next Tuesday.  Evidently there are some employers that realize experience is an asset not a liability.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Business, Soap Box, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

