Thought for Today

I was debating an individual last night about health care.  He is under the belief that if he has health insurance the insurance company needs to pay for whatever medical procedure he has. My stance was/is when you pay for insurance, you need to know your policy that you are paying for and you are entitled to only what services that are contained within the policy.

This digressed to his support for Bernie Sanders because he will give America a national health insurance that he believes will cover everything.  I told him to look at today’s Medicare and asked him if that covers ‘everything’.  I went on to tell him that it would never get through Congress.  To that his reply was Bernie will do it by executive order.

He said that he will support Bernie to the end and by doing so he will be a catalyst for change.  I told him that he over estimates his vote and presence in the big scheme of things.  I then added “With that, good night. “The words of their mouths are mischief and deceit; they have ceased to act wisely and do good.” Psalms 36:3″  The verse I quoted was directed towards politicians as that was the last we discussed, but this person took it personally.

He responded “As an atheist, I don’t appreciate your recitation of Christian gospel towards me.”  I thought to myself “why did he jump to the conclusion that I was speaking to him?” That was paired with the thought that it is so common in today’s environment to think that Christians  must be stifled and then chided if they do speak out.

I reminded him that as an American I am entitled to free speech as much as any other person, even when others do not appreciate it, and that is my thought for today –

In America, everyone is entitled to speak their mind EVEN when others do not appreciate it. To try and stifle someone’s speech because you don’t agree with it is unAmerican. ~ ME

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Constitutional Law, Nourishment For The Soul, Religion, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

