Scam Warning!

I just got the call from (536) 425-4741 where a male with an Indian accent told me he was calling because they have received a recent notification that my computer was infected! Here is how the conversation went:

ME: Who are you trying to call?

HIM: We are calling you.

ME: And what is my name?

HIM: I’m sorry, Microsoft for security reasons did not give us your name, only your number.

ME: And Microsoft told you my computer was infected?

HIM: Yes, and we are going to show you the infected files and show you how to get rid of them.

ME: The news had a story about this scam…

HIM This is NO scam sir! I can guarantee you that this is a legitimate call.

ME: What did Microsoft tell you my operating system is?

HIM: It has infected all operating systems of windows 7 through 10.

ME: Well I should be safe then because I am using an Apple computer.

HIM: Oh no! This attack affects both Apple and Microsoft systems.

ME: Why would Microsoft have you notify me that my Apple computer is infected?

HIM: Apple hired Microsoft to make these notifications.

ME: and you work for Microsoft?

HIM: No, Microsoft hired us to handle the problem for them.

ME: Hang on a second while I call my boss at Apple Corporation to find out why they didn’t notify their employees directly. (I hear a click) Hello? Hello?

Darn we got disconnected.

Don’t give these people access to your information or computer!  Do not pay them or give them credit card information.  This is a scam!

BTW, I do not use my Apple computer often and am not employed by the Apple Corporation.  Had this been a legitimate call he would have had my name and known what I had registered with Microsoft.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Soap Box, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

