Another Thought

I drove to the local convenience store to pick up one of their award winning pizzas for lunch.  While I was there, a man pulls in in an old, rusty and beat up Chevrolet Celebrity.  He purchased a gallon of gasoline and then looked through a Tootsie-Pop container.   The clerk asked if she could help him and he told her that he was looking for a ‘brown Tootsie Pop sucker’.  When neither could find one he asked her to open a new box of Tootsie Pops so he could get a brown one.  She told him that there weren’t anymore boxes until the supply truck arrives on Friday.  The man became distraught and told her that he had stopped at every grocery store and convenience store for over 20 miles looking for a ‘brown Tootsie Pop’.  He asked where the next convenience store was, to which she replied there was one 7 miles North, 7 miles East, and 7 miles South.

Wanting to pay for my pizza while it was still somewhat warm, I suggested he go Walmart and purchase a box of Tootsie Pops and looked at me as if I were asking him to cannibalize his own offspring.

“What?” he screamed, “everyone knows the brown ones are the only ones that aren’t poisoned!”

As he went out the door to continue his search for a non-poisonous brown Tootsie-Pop, I paid for my pizza and waited for him to be well down the road before I left.  I wondered how this person could have a drivers license before I headed for home.

My life seems so much better all of a sudden.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

