Thought for Today

Killing for the thrill of killing is not a sport, it is just killing. ~ ME

I am all about hunting to put food on the table.  I am not about killing for the thrill of killing and then bragging about it.

I posted this story before, but here is the synopsis of it.  When I was a kid I had a .22 caliber rifle.  I had been through hunter’s education and gun safety and knew to be safe.  One day, out of the farm, I shot a sparrow at 50-60 yards with only iron sights in the rifle (no scope).  I was so proud of my shooting accuracy that I told my father about it.

My father was of the philosophy that you only kill for two reasons:  1) the animal (whether two or four legged) was attempting to attack you; or 2) to put food on the table.  After I bragged about my accuracy, he made me go recover the sparrow, clean it (plucking all the feathers and removing the entrails, after which he cooked it on the grill, and made me eat it.  I never shot another animal for S & G’s again.

Yesterday, an acquaintance posted a photo of his son holding an arrow with a starling that he had shot on the arrow.  The father bragged that his son was so accurate that he was shooting starlings and therefore ready to go turkey hunting with his bow and was proud of his accomplishment.  I on the other hand was disappointed to see that he considered this an achievement.

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Soap Box, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

