Thought for Today (6/14/2016)

I read an article by a young lady who was raised in a church but now turns her back on Christianity to pursue the trappings of the City of Man.  In her article she announces “Don’t call me a Christian.”

For those who do not know what the City of Man is, it is a reference to the book written by Augustine De Hippo, The City of God, written in the year 426 AD where he says there are those who live in the city of man that only live for today and there are those who reside in the city of man while focused on eventually living in the City of God.  These people are the morally and ethically strong who live by God’s rule to eventually reside with Him in heaven.

I am happy to say that you may call me a Christian anytime you like and if you do so trying to label me as something bad, you will fail because a person who follows Jesus Christ is not bad.

I am a Christian and happy to be one. The constant slams against Christianity by those who do not have the mental wherewithal to have faith in what they cannot see do not phase my belief at all.  If they want to trade an eternity in hell for a very short time relatively here on earth, that is their choice.

I don’t judge others as I have my own faults to focus on.  Judgment for all will be at the hand of God at the time of death from this world and birth in the Kingdom of Heaven.

I don’t brag on my good deeds because that demeans the deeds. Matthew 6 tells us to do good deeds anonymously as not be patted on the back by others, but to do good deeds because they are virtuous.

I live my life with integrity.  I am a man of my word and keep it with all I make promises to.  My father taught me that there is only one thing that others cannot take from you, but if you give it away, you can never get back, and that is your word.  In Proverbs it says that a man who promises a gift and does not give is like the clouds and wind that do not give rain.

I will give a person a hand up willingly, but I won’t give them a hand out. Jesus said something to the effect that if you give a man a fish, he eats for today; but if you teach him to fish, he eats for life.  Therefore it is also saying that if you give a man a fish every day, you enslave him to you for life.  You are not doing him a favor or good at all, but actually you are crippling him.

Finally, I’ve put all my chips down on God.  Blaise Pascal, a 17th century philosopher, mathematician and physicist, came up with the apologetic philosophy that you can bet your life two ways; one with God, and the other with no God.  If you wager God exists and are wrong, you will never know because there would be no conscious awareness after death.  However, if you are right, and have lived an honest life, you will enter the Kingdom of Heaven for eternity.  If you place your bet on no God and live your life accordingly, one of two things will happen.  If you are right once again after death you will not know it because of no conscious thought; however if you are wrong, you will have to stand before God and try to defend denying Him before spending an eternity in Hell.  So, which way are you going to place your bet?

So, please feel free to call me a Christian any time you like as I take it as a compliment.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Religion, Soap Box, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

