Thought for Today (11/15/2016)

After spending the better part of the last three weeks in a forest camping without cell phone service, television, or radio, I have come to the conclusion that it is the ‘convenience gadgets’ of today that tend to create the rifts between people.

The first couple of nights I missed social media and the convenience of keeping in contact with people via the internet, and then that passed.

The first couple of nights I missed television and the convenience of being able to watch the news to see what the media wanted us to think was important, and that too passed.

The first couple of days I missed the convenience of having cell phone service to talk to people not near me, and that too passed.

I came home for a couple of days and found myself wanting to be back out in the forest. When my cell phone rang, (other than my wife calling me), I found myself being annoyed at it.  When I watched TV, I saw that it was the same old crap and became agitated.  On social media, too many people are stuck with the addiction to not wanting to accept life and reality and I shook my head.

During that three week period I experienced snow geese migrating south as one and envied their unity.  I watched owls, hawks, crows, warblers and sparrow all going about their daily lives without created interference.  During that period, I watched wildlife living their lives without the drama of pettiness and accepted they know what living really is.

During that three week period, when I spoke to someone it was face to face.  I understood what they were saying and how they felt by listening to their intonation and watching their face.  There were no misunderstandings or hidden agendas.

During that three week period, I was left with lots of time to commune with God and nature.  I was afforded the time to contemplate what is really important and what is not.  I was able to find my inner peace that only comes with inward reflection.

During those 21 days, when it was light out, I set about getting what needed to be done on my agenda and what needed to be done to survive.  When the night interceded, I ate my evening meal, cleaned up, read my daily scripture by lantern light and then turned in for the night.  On clear nights I was able to look up at the night sky and see millions of stars and the Milky Way.  It reminded me that the issues I perceive as great are absolutely nothing in comparison to the big picture.  It also forced me to accept that something this grand is statistically impossible as a casual occurrence.  Yes, nothing this great could be nothing more than a big bang, it took intelligent design.

Once it was all over, I remembered a scene from a movie where the lead spoke of going on a ‘walkabout’; a term used to define aboriginal peoples making a journey in order to recapture traditional living and what is important, and I realized that is what the vast majority of the last three weeks have been about for me.

I think more people need to go on a walkabout and find their true selves in lieu of living the artificially created lives that are marketed to them.  What would life be like if we all did so?

 

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Education, Nourishment For The Soul, Religion, Self Help, Whatever Happened To..., Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

