Thought for Today (11/20/2016)

I left the house at 4:15 this morning and at 5:40 I was sitting in the stand. By 7:30 my toes were hurting from the cold and thank goodness the neighbors cattle found a hole in the fence to disrupt everything.

I got out of the stand and rounded up the 20 head of cattle and one horse and drove them back across the property, through the creek and back on to the neighbor’s property. As the cattle moved through an area of tall grass they bumped a doe and the biggest freaking buck I’ve ever seen!

I crawled into a stand nearby and sat until 2:00 this afternoon without seeing any other signs of life other than the cows, crows, and downy woodpeckers.

At 2:00 I decided to play the wind even better and made my way back to the topside and to a stand where deer would not be able to wind me. Finally, at 5:10 I got some action! A large doe walked into my shooting lane and I took the bow off the hanger and drew back. As I did so, the doe’s very small fawn came into the lane and started suckling at the doe’s teat.

Yes, I am out there to fill two tags and put some venison in the freezer. That fawn didn’t have any spots, but Lord it was tiny! I don’t think it would make it without its mother so I slowly let off the bow and let them walk.

There are more important things than filling tags; like giving that young deer a chance to grow up.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

