Thought for Today (12/8/2016)

 

I LEFT HOME AT THE AGE OF 17.

I WAS TAUGHT TO KILL OTHERS BEFORE I COULD VOTE OR LEGALLY DRINK.

I WAS TAUGHT TO SACRIFICE MY LIFE IN ORDER TO SAVE OTHERS.

I SPENT YEARS NOT ABLE TO SEE MY OWN FAMILY.

I SPENT MANY LONG PERIODS OF TIME WITHOUT ENOUGH SLEEP. 

I WAS PROMISED THREE HOT MEALS AND A BED EACH DAY, BUT ALL TOO FREQUENTLY HAD NO MORE THAN COLD C RATIONS LEFT OVER FROM THE KOREAN AND VIETNAM WARS AND THE GROUND BENEATH MY FEET TO SLEEP ON.

MY STARTING PAY WAS $4,300 PER YEAR, WHEN A DISHWASHER AT A RESTAURANT MADE OVER $8,000 PER YEAR.

THROUGHOUT MY CAREER I WAS PAID ABOUT 50% OF WHAT MY CIVILIAN COUNTERPARTS MADE.

I DIDN’T DO THIS TO GET RICH OR EVEN BE WELL OFF; I DID THIS BECAUSE IT WAS NOT ABOUT ME.

I DID THIS WITHOUT RESERVATION FOR AMERICA AND HER PEOPLE TO ENSURE THEY REMAIN FREE.

IF I HAD IT TO DO ALL OVER AGAIN, ONCE AGAIN WITHOUT RESERVATION OR HESITATION, I WOULD DO IT.

I AM AN AMERICAN VETERAN

 

I LOOK AT YOUNG PEOPLE TODAY WHO ARE IN THEIR MID-TWENTIES AND THIRTIES THAT CANNOT COMPREHEND THAT FREEDOM IS NOT AN ENTITLEMENT, BUT IS PAID FOR THROUGH THE LIVES AND BLOOD OF PATRIOTS. THESE SAME PEOPLE WOULD NOT BE WILLING TO DO WHAT I DID; NOR DO I THINK THEY, FOR THE MOST PART, ARE TOUGH ENOUGH TO DO IT.

 

THIS MAKES ME REALIZE THAT THE AMERICA I KNOW AND LOVE WILL NOT LAST MUCH LONGER AND THIS SADDENS ME.

 

I DO TAKE SOLACE IN KNOWING THAT MORE THAN LIKELY I WILL NOT BE ALIVE WHEN SHE GOES UNDER, EVEN THOUGH I AM AFRAID THAT MY CHILDREN AND GRANDCHILDREN WILL HAVE TO LIVE THROUGH IT.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Nourishment For The Soul, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

