Thought for Today (12/11/2016)

When I was a child I knew Christmas was about celebrating the birth of Jesus the Anointed One (Christ) or if you prefer Jesus the Messiah.  But every Christmas season was spent more with me spending time daydreaming about what I would get in material presents than remembering what I already got over 2000 years ago when Jesus was born.

Then, when I was no more than 14, I received an album for my Christmas gift from a favorite aunt who lived far away.  Some of the songs on the album put my young mind to work.  There was a song that sank deep into my heart entitled “Wind Up”.  The song says that God is not something or someone you windup on Sundays.  I took it to mean we should worship God seven days a week and live our lives accordingly.

This one album hooked me on this band and I bought each new album as it came out.  In 1989 another song by this group was released.  Simply entitled “A Christmas Song”, what the song said was a condemnation of the irreverence many display at Christmas time.  The lyrics are:

Once in Royal David’s City stood a lonely cattle shed,
Where a mother held her baby.
You’d do well to remember the things He later said.
When you’re stuffing yourselves at the Christmas parties,

You’ll just laugh when I tell you to take a running jump.
You’re missing the point I’m sure does not need making
That Christmas spirit is not what you drink.

So how can you laugh when your own mother’s hungry,
And how can you smile when the reasons for smiling are wrong?
And if I just messed up your thoughtless pleasures,
Remember, if you wish, this is just a Christmas song.

Written by Shawn Phillips • Copyright © Universal Music Publishing Group
Again, I was reinforced to Christmas is not about you, but it is about you.  It is not for drink, food and presents; unless of course you drink of the spirit and fill yourselves with food of the scripture and remember the present you were given long before you were even born. ~ ME
About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in An Inconvenient God, Nourishment For The Soul, Religion, Sociology, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

