Thought for Today (1/6/2017)

Yesterday I ran into an old friend at the grocery store. There he sat on the shelf in the cracker isle (saltines et al, not white people(race joke)) smiling at me. Sociables, the cracker with poppy seeds, whom I had not seen in a long time beckoned me to take him home.

I love my poppy seeds so I obliged even though the box was a lot smaller than I remember them. The box also announced that they are baked, I don’t remember them being baked either; although the thought of poppy seeds being baked kind of makes sense. (drug joke)

This morning I opened the box and there snuggled inside a securely sealed bag were the crackers awaiting me. After a short, but successful battle unsealing the bag, I had my crackers in view.

Visual inspection revealed the poppy seeds so far, so good. Then I took the first bite. I waited a moment after initially tasting only a cracker, the poppy flavor finally arrived.

As I snacked on them, memories of Bridge parties my parents used to host in Newton came back where once they started playing cards my elder brother and I would sneak out to grab a handful of crackers to snack on.

Even though the box is smaller, the price is larger, the crackers are now baked, and the bag was adult-proof, the flavor was still there.

A lot has changed, but it is still close enough to the crackers I remembered to bring back fond memories!

Welcome back my old friend.

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Gastric Pleasures, Memories, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

