Thought for Today (3/21/2017)

They say you can never go home again meaning that you can never regain that time in life and the feelings of that time. I say you may not physically be able to go back in time, but you can go home again.

Home is a state of mind and heart that is often attained by triggers.

Triggers can be an old song or other sensory stimulant that you enjoyed during a moment in time.

The song Windy by the Association, which was released in 1968, takes be back to a trip we took in the family station wagon from Newton, Iowa to Forreston, Illinois over Easter weekend.  That trip is fond in my memory because my cousin had a dog breeding facility there and I would spend every day we were there playing with the puppies.  One puppy who was a Miniature Shetland Sheepdog, was a dwarf and scheduled to be euthanized.  She was a beautiful pup and playful as any other pup.  I begged my parents for that pup every day to no avail.

As we were leaving my father stopped the car and told everyone to wait in the car.  Pretty soon he came walking back to the car with a box in hand.  I thought he changed his mind and decided to get my sister a bunny she wanted. When he got to the car he handed me the box and told me it was my responsibility to take care of it.  Inside the box was the puppy!  We named her Ga-Ann (a combination of the owners of the kennel, Gary and Jean Ann, and she stayed smaller than a Yorkie.

Other memories brought back by triggers:

The song Midnight Confessions – My first girlfriend.

The song When Will I see You Again – My second girlfriend.

The song Walk Away – My Tour in Korea

The song Han O-baek Nyoen (About Five Hundred Years) – Dating my wife.

Meatloaf and Hotdog Boats – Mom.

Stale cigarette smoke – Dad.

There are many others, but you get the idea.  We can go back home again, if only for a moment or two.

 

245

About The Rural Iowegian

I am the Rural Iowegian of www.ruraliowegian.wordpress.com a published author and an award winning photographer. I use this space to speak my mind. God Bless.
This entry was posted in Memories, Nourishment For The Soul, Writing. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Thought for Today (3/21/2017)

  1. As an older guy who listens to a lot of ’60’s music, I find that most songs that I hear take me to some specific moment of my youth.

Leave a Reply

